THE MAGIC IS DEAD!

For discussions about everything Star Wars that's not related to just one particular film....

Moderators: dranoel, donleow

THE MAGIC IS DEAD!

Post by 2501 » Wed May 18, 2005 7:04 am

When I was a kid, it captured me with every mighty magic grip it had, but as I grew and became more aware of everything, especially that I'm now a critical artist myself, everything that is in any characteristics of an art form, I will see it with my bittersweet eyes.

When I watched EP1 over a couple of times, I really detest that how the characters spoke with nothing more than reading out their own flat scripts. It hurt my eyes to see how flat the camera is framing every conversation scenes. And all these are amplified in EP2.

And I will say again that Lucas is nothing more than a savvy businessman. A bad storyteller, scriptwriter and film director he is. His agenda of creating the 3 prequels is probably recreating a new generation of followers to continue the "magic."

Just watch it like every other Hollywood SFX extravaganza, and it will be fine.

hbng
Site Admin

Post by hbng » Thu May 19, 2005 12:35 am

How's your reaction after watching EP3 (if you've done so already)?

danchia
Site Admin

Re: THE MAGIC IS DEAD!

Post by danchia » Thu May 19, 2005 9:32 am

2501 wrote:When I watched EP1 over a couple of times, I really detest that how the characters spoke with nothing more than reading out their own flat scripts. It hurt my eyes to see how flat the camera is framing every conversation scenes. And all these are amplified in EP2.

Hmmm , quite an astute observation, Derrick. I do agree with you on both counts.